Posted by: laughs4dads | March 19, 2010

Audio Books

One of the ways a father can know if his child really loves him is if the kid goes through the trouble of humoring him.

You don’t find out about this until years later, when your child figures, “Hey, we’re both adults here,” and decides to let you in on the secret.

In my case it was my daughter, Casey, informing me when she was 15 that all the voices I had painstakingly invented while reading to her for over a decade sounded the same.

“What do you mean?” I asked, not ready to have my innocence destroyed.

“All your voices sound like old Jewish men,” she replied.

“Oh, come on,” I protested.  “Surely my Foghorn Leghorn…”

“Old Jewish man.”

“How about Ghepetto?  My Italian accent…”

“Sounds Jewish.”

I was getting upset.  I had recently finished reading the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy to her, launching a Herculean effort to not only lend different voices to thousands of characters, but to keep track of them.

“Wait a minute,” I said.  “The hobbits?  The elves?”  I jumped from my seat.  “Gollum?”  I hissed: “‘What has it got in its pocketses?’”

“Rabbis,” my lovely daughter said flatly.

I slumped back to my seat, defeated.  Here I thought I had been rivaling Mel Blanc, and it turns out I had just been imitating Mel Brooks.

Casey put her arm consolingly around my shoulder.

“I still want you to you read to me,” she said.

Ah, she really does loves me.

Writer’s note: In case he’s before your time, Mel Blanc was responsible for virtually all the voices in all the classic Warner Bros. Looney Tunes cartoons.

Share

Responses

  1. Thanks for the chuckle!


Leave a Reply

Categories

