Posted by: laughs4dads | April 5, 2010

Not a Good Sport

In honor of the start of the baseball season, I’d like to share my memories of watching my daughter play Little League. Or girls’ softball. Or kickball. Or anything with a round object.

I’d like to, but I can’t.

I love my daughter more than anything, and would not change a thing about her, but I must admit that it would have been nice to stand on the sidelines, rooting for Casey, yelling at umpires, and causing trouble for the coach who wasn’t playing her enough.

Unfortunately, if Casey has a sports-oriented bone in her body, it’s probably the one in her arm that she broke falling off the monkey bars in fourth grade.

She did try soccer once. Barbara and I watched as Casey wandered around the field aimlessly, occasionally looking at her fingernails, for five minutes. Then the ball had the nerve to move in her general direction. Casey watched in horror as it approached, and appeared not to know whether to kick it, run from it, or dive on it to save the other kids. It was if it wasn’t a soccer ball at all, but that boulder at the beginning of the first Indiana Jones movie.

Casey stood perfectly still, as if the ball wouldn’t attack her if she didn’t move. She breathed a sigh of relief as it trickled harmlessly past her.

Then she came running off the field. Okay, trotting. Well, maybe walking at a somewhat accelerated pace.

“I don’t like this,” she said.

And then the fat lady sang.

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

