Posted by: laughs4dads | August 11, 2010

History is Made

Twenty-four years ago tomorrow, at 9:19 pm Eastern Time, there occurred a momentous event in the annals of human history.

Well, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration.

Tomorrow is my daughter’s birthday.

August 12, 1986 is when Casey emerged from a gaping hole in her mother’s stomach. She was all gooey and bloody, and she was having a really bad hair day, her bright red locks seemingly glued to her head, which, at least, was not misshapen like the heads of all the other babies our friends were having.

She cleaned up pretty well, though, and then she went off to college.

Some stuff may have happened in between, but it’s all a blur, and it’s been awhile since we looked at the videos. I vaguely remember some drama with other girls, and a pink cast on her arm, and some passions that fell by the wayside, like sewing and rock climbing and the Barenaked Ladies.

But I remember clearly single days, like when she and I went on a whirlwind tour of museums in Queens, or, when, on the spur of the moment, we drove to Coney Island and rode the Wonder Wheel.

Those were such great days.

I remember how moved I was when I visited the set of a student film she was directing and saw how in charge she was, yet how collaborative she was at the same time. I remember how much I enjoyed writing that movie with her (more about that in a future post), and how proud I was when she completed the very ambitious project.

I have been so proud of her, so often.

And while this blog is my point of view, I know how proud my wife is, too. And she should be. I give her full credit for the young woman Casey has turned out to be.

Although her sense of humor inarguably cane from me.

Happy birthday, Casey. No father loves his daughter more.

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

