Posted by: laughs4dads | November 20, 2010

Dumb-capades

A quick little rant today.

I just saw a commercial for Disney’s Toy Story on Ice, and I remembered a Disney on Ice show we took Casey to when she was around 6 and we were very stupid.

It was at Madison Square Garden, and all these Disney characters with overly large heads skated around the arena like a troupe of mutant Olympians. Even Casey thought it was boring.

I just don’t get it. Why the ice? Why does that make it better than if the characters were only running around the arena? Is it an added element of danger? Is everyone on the edge of their seats waiting for Snow White to fall and slide across the ice, mowing down the seven dwarfs as if they were bearded bowling pins? I mean, it’s not as if these skaters, as talented as they may or may not be, are about to attempt death-defying triple axels while costumed as Buzz Lightyear. As far as I’m concerned, the only way the ice could make it interesting was if the New York Rangers skated out and started body checking the Disney princesses. Take that, Ariel!

In short, I’ll take my margarita on ice. I’ll take my Disney characters on film, thank you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

